Movies I’ve seen in 2016

As a moviegoer every year in Dec. I made 2 list, Movies I’ve seen at Cinema & Movies I’ll be watching next year. Here is the list of movies I’ve seen at the cinema and at home with one word review. 2016 watchlist can be found here.

At Cinema:

Deadpool (action,adventure) – AWESOME

The Revenant (drama,thriller) – chilling

Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice (action,adventure) – Drag

Captain America: Civil War (scifi,thriller) – entertaining

The Nice Guys (crime,mystery) – funny

X-Men: Apocalypse (action,adventure) – brilliant

Now You See Me 2 (action,thriller) – entertaining

Suicide Squad (action) – WASTE

Actor in Law (romance,comedy) – entertaining

Janaan (romance,drama) – okay

Zindagi Kitni Haseen Hai (romance,drama) – Boring

Inferno (mystery,thriller) – Boring

Doctor Strange (adventure,fantasy) – brilliant

Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them (action,fantasy) – impressive

La La Land (drama,romance) – magical

best movies of 2016

My top 3 movies at the cinema will be . . .

1. Deadpool

2. Doctor Strange

3. Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them

worst movies of 2016

Worst movies . . .

1. Suicide Squad

2. Zindagi Kitni Haseen Hai

3. Batman V Superman

At Home:

Sabrina 1966 (comedy,drama) – entertaining
Comet 2014 (scifi,drama) – impressive
Journey to Italy 1954 (drama,romance) – entertaining
Creative Control 2015 (scifi,drama) – brilliant
The Witch 2015 (mystery,horror) – chilling
The Girl Was Young 1937 (thriller) – suspenseful
Titli 2014 (bollywood,thriller) – impressive
Gulaal 2009 (bollywood,thriller) – gripping
Demolition 2015 (drama) – brilliant
Hush 2016 (horror,thriller) – gripping
The Past 2014 (drama) – entertaining
Oye Kuch Kar Guzar 2016 (comedy,drama) – refreshing

My watchlist for 2017 can be found here

Apart from that I started 3 new TV series in 2016

1. Marco Polo

2. Stranger Things

3. The Night Of

4. The Grand Tour

Advertisements

Movies I will be watching at Cinema in 2017

Every year in December I made list of the movies that I’ll be watching next year at cinema. These are the following movies I’ll be watching at cinema in 2017.

Movies of 2017

Here is the list of the movies with expected release dates:

Logan (action,scifi) – 3rd Mar. 2017

Jagga Jasoos (adventure,bollywood) – 7th Apr. 2017

Fast & Furious 8 (crime,thriller) -14th Apr. 2017

Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2 (action,scifi) – 5th May 2017

Alien: Covenant (horror,scifi) – 19th May 2017

Pirates of the Caribbean: Dead Men Tell No Tales (action,comedy) – 26th May 2017

Wonder Woman (action,adventure) – 2nd Jun. 2017

Transformers: The Last Knight (action,adventure) – 23rd Jun. 2017

Despicable Me 3 (animation,adventure) – 30th Jun. 2017

Spider-Man: Homecoming (action,adventure) – 7th Jul. 2017

Dunkirk (drama,history) – 21st Jul. 2017

Valerian and the City of a Thousand Planets (scifi,adventure) – 21st Jul. 2017

Thor: Ragnarok (action,fantasy) – 3rd Nov. 2017

Justice League (action,fantasy) – 17th Nov. 2017

Murder on the Orient Express (crime,mystery) – 22nd Nov. 2017

15 movies are in the list so far. List will be updated if I find any interesting movie.

The Past – French Iranian Movie Review

The Past aka ‘Le Passe’ is a French–Italian–Iranian movie, written and directed by Iranian director Asghar Farhadi. Previously I’ve seen A Separation by the same director which was an Oscar winner for Best Foreign Language Film of the Year in 2012.

The Past movie review

Plot

An Iranian man returns to Paris to finalize his divorce, where the relationships with his new wife and their children cause the movie’s complex struggle.

Review

The director brilliantly takes us on a roller coaster ride through the relationships among the characters. There are several twists and surprises convince you to stick to your seat to the end. There’s no excessive dialog. You have to listen carefully and memorize all the details. One of the beauties of a Farhadi film is its ability to show the true nature of people put in awkward and cynical situations. His men are furious, egotistical and macho in ways that allow other men to understand their own blow-ups and justify why their tempers flare. His women are strong and confident, using love as a muse to defy the limitations society has put on them. In action and in silence, his characters manoeuvre the unsteady terrain of life and the loud constraints of relationships. The acting is faultless and the film is more visually compelling. 

My Rating: 8/10

 

 

The Witch – Best Indie Horror

Its been while since I’ve seen any good horror movie, two months ago I’ve found indie horror movie ‘The Witch‘. The story was about a Puritan family in 1630s New England is torn apart by the forces of witchcraft, black magic and possession. Here is the trailer of the movie.

Its a directorial debut of Robert Eggers and he has done an incredible work. Film was inspired by many folktales and fairy-tales about the witchcraft which makes it truly terrifying. Eggers used handwoven cloths and the dialogues from that era to give it a historical accuracy. He knows how to create tension with the atmosphere and the music. The use of animals and nature also increases the dread of The Witch. The reactions and treatment of a goat, horse, rabbit, and dog are a foreboding to a threat that we are mostly in the dark about.

The Witch Review

This is the kind of serious horror movie that will keep you on the edge of your seat.

My Rating: 5/5

TV Series: Mozart in the Jungle Review

Farman Blogs

Last year I really want to start some new comedy TV Series and accidentally I found Mozart in the Jungle starring one of my favorite actor Gael Garcia Bernal. Its a story of a fictional symphony orchestra seen through the eyes of Hailey (Lola Kirke), a young oboist. She is very talented though still inexperienced and attracts the ear of the new superstar conductor, Rodrigo (Gael Garcia Bernal) who has just taken over from the now retiring incumbent played by Malcolm McDowell.

Review:

Everything is just perfect in this half an hour comedy drama. The show gives you a glimpse of life of the musicians worked at New York Symphony. It made me fall in love with classic music. I searched internet to find these symphonies composed by the greatest musicians. Here are some of favorite symphonies which you already have listened in some movie.

  1. 1812 Overture by

View original post 38 more words

Roberto Rossellini’s Journey to Italy Review

Roberto Rossellini was an Italian film director and screenwriter. Rossellini was one of the directors of the Italian neorealist cinema. Recently I watched Journey to Italy also known as Voyage to Italy (Italian: Viaggio in Italia) starring Ingrid Bergman and George Sanders.

The story was about a couple traveling to Naples after inheriting a villa. They were on the verge of divorce, with neither one’s disposition warming to the other, they decide to spend the rest of the trip separately. Katherine Joyce (Ingrid Bergman) visits museums and historical sites, whereas Alexander (George Sanders) goes to Capri to unwind with drinks. However, during the course of their vacation, the Joyces both undergo changes. My favorite scene from the movie was when Ingrid visits the Naples museum alone. The guide takes her through a high hall of epic proportions, and she and the camera view a succession of ancient sculptures, one perhaps reminding her of her lost romantic poet. This is the first time I’ve seen statues with eyes, like they are alive.

Journey to Italy Review

I watched digitally restored version by Criterion Collection. It was the feast for the eyes. Although it has only two colors black and white but the way Rossellini captured the beauty of Naples and its historic sites makes you want to travel to Italy. Pompeii is the very first time in the film they visit a site together.The uncovered body-casts of what seems like a married couple just at the moment they died affects them both. The final scene shows Katherine figuratively swept away by an environmental tide of emotional abandonment at the religious procession.They find themselves through the passion and chaos of life thrown once again upon each other’s mutual need.

Journey to Italy Review

As the film concludes, the pair in their fine automobile are brought to a halt by a religious procession in the streets. As the milling onlookers shout “Miracle!” we see a man behind the elevated statue of the Virgin Mary holding his crutches aloft and trailing after. And suddenly Ingrid and George resolve their problems. It’s that modest upbeat that ends a classical symphony cleanly.

This movie is special because it was the last time Bergman and Fellini worked on a film together.

 

 

Batman V Superman – Review with Spoilers

My ticket

On 28th March I’ve seen the most awaited movie of 2016 “Batman V Superman“. I’ve so many expectations from this movie but overall it was quite disappointing. In trailers they’ve showed the shiny outer shell but inside there was nothing except complicated weak story-line and the drag fighting scene in the end just like “Man of Steel“.

Batman V Superman Review

Movie starts with the fighting scene from Man of Steel as Superman brings lots of collateral damage to the city of Metropolis which left many feeling angry and helpless, including crime-fighting billionaire Bruce Wayne. As he is now convinced that Superman is a threat to humanity, he embarks on a personal vendetta to end his reign on Earth. While the conniving Lex Luthor launches his own crusade against the Man of Steel.

In between DC introduced Wonder Woman, Aquaman, Flash and Cyborg. Only Wonder Woman has a proper introduction and the rest are just a part of video clips for few seconds.

Lex Luthor (Jesse Eisenberg) was confusing, his character is completely subsumed by the Joker. Thanks to his character there was a little humor in this movie which is usually absent in DC movies.

This movie shows that Superman loves his girlfriend Louis Lane more than his mother. He can hear her scream from underwater, travel halfway across the world with a gun to her head, save her falling from a skyscraper but can’t hear her mother’s scream when she was kidnapped by Lex Luthor.

I don’t know why Zack Snyder keeps on repeating same mistakes again and again. I remember someone at the cinema called him Sanjay Leela Bhansali of Hollywood and when Lex Luthor was giving a speech to Superman standing at the helipad someone said that he was coping Shahrukh Khan cos the way he talks.

There is a reason why Rotten Tomatoes critics rating is just 29% and “Batman v Superman falls 68% in second weekend” as people now know what it is all about and the best explanation by the DC fans is, ‘This movie is not for the critics’.

My Rating: 2/5